A new bucket list

I'm hoping to spend my final non-working summer here. Photo: David Busch Aus @Flickr

Contrary to my last blog post, I’m now hoping to spend my final non-working summer here. Photo: David Busch Aus @Flickr

Having read the latest post over on Life of a Digital Girl, I’ve been thinking about my own list of things that I’d really like to do in my life.

I’m a big fan of lists. A list was central to my Semester in Australia blog and I am still working my way through the North West with my One Year, One City list.

But come May 19th, I’m leaving this city and I need some new things to aim for. So here’s my new list:

– Go to a gig at Hotel CafĂ©, LA

– Own a KitchenAid

– Go to South By South West (and SXSWi) and discover amazing new music and technology

– Be able to go to a Joseph Joseph shop display and not have to leave empty handed

– Explore the West Coast of Australia by travelling from Perth to Darwin via the Kimberley Region

– Go back to Cupcake Central in Melbourne to eat one of their Salted Caramel cupcakes

– Have a long and happy career wherever that may lead me

It’s not the longest list in the world, but considering my life ambitions originally boiled down to just the first two points I think I’ve widened my scope quite a bit. Plus, it looks as though I may be able to cross one of these off this year which is super exciting.

It may read as though my life is all about music, food and travelling and I guess that’s a fair assumption to make. All three do play a huge part in my life. Throw in my desire to continue to learn more about rural Indigenous Australia with the trip to the Kimberley and it becomes clear that these are the things that money could buy to help me create some awesome memories. In fact, it’s the exploring the West Coast of Australia part that I’m most excited about. When I studied Aboriginal languages and Australian history last year I was totally inspired and I really want to see the real Australia. I adore Melbourne and Sydney – the cosmopolitan urban cities are my favourites in the world – but my longing to see a different side to the country persists and I hope that this year I can begin to see more of it.

But of course, the rest of my most amazing experiences come from the unplannable things. The family meals, unexpected days out and fun times with friends. The stuff you can’t buy. I don’t want to put these on my list, ultimately because they aren’t things I think I should plan for or have to schedule in.

More information about Legal & General’s Bucket List competition can be found by following the link below:

What’s on your bucket list? Or what should I add to mine?

