Marketing Valentine’s

Valentine’s Day is coming up, but I guess you’re already well aware of that. Card shops are raking it in and romantic gift displays can be found in most high street shops.

On my trip to Sainsbury’s yesterday, I was unsurprised to see the huge wall of pink and red stood prominently next to the Easter treats (which are also out excessively early, but that’s another story). I was more surprised, however, when I ventured down the desserts aisle to find these…

If there's no romance, there's no pudding.

If there’s no romance, there’s no pudding.

Yes, my favourite chocolate soufflés are now occasion-specifc.

I bought a pack (to comfort eat through my singleness, of course), mainly because they were on special offer but am left feeling unloved by the brand.

Inside the products are identical, but the packaging appears to create an event out of the desserts.

“It’s Valentine’s, I’m feeling bold, my passions are alight. But how to please my only love on this romantic night? The other ways, they’ve all been done, and clichés disappoint. But I hope with Gü, to gain from you some instant brownie points”

I won’t lie, my only hope from Gü was to gain a few hundred calories and a remote feeling of contentness.

And you know what the best part is?

Read the date.

Read the date.

Yes, they have to be ‘devoured’ before Valentine’s Day.

Don’t get me wrong. I know that Valentine’s is a marketer’s dream. And by all means you can create new products, make things heart-shaped and up the prices of roses. But don’t make me feel bad for wanting to buy your product for myself. To eat by myself. And then to rant about. By myself.

**UPDATE** The good folks at Gü have responded to my concerns on both Facebook and Twitter. See below for their semi-acceptable response.

Has anyone else been annoyed by Valentine’s marketing? Or should I just take the packaging as Gü being willing to be my replacement date for the night? 

