A Closer Look: PA

PAs do a whole lot more than just sitting at a computer.

Today Claire Dunning fills us in on the busy, varied life of a PA.

What is your official job title? PA
What does your average day involve (if an average day even exists)? My average day can be anything from processing wages, diary management, interviewing, process and policy writing, drug testing, client liason, social media and website management, gate keeping, phone monitoring, fuel monitoring, PPE stocktaking, ordering and monitoring – every day is very different.
What are the biggest challenges of your job? Time scales and the volume of work.
What do you enjoy most about your job? I love the people that I work with, the variety of work and I feel valued and that my opinion matters.
What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into a similar position? I had no experience when I applied for my job and they took a chance on me, confidence is important and a willingness to say what you think! You have to be able to say no to people! This is my dream job – I went through a lot of frogs to find it – Never give up on finding whats right for you!

Thanks so much to Claire for getting on board with this project. If you work in the media/creative industry and have five minutes to spare to help create this careers resource, please have a read about the project here.

