A Closer Look: Creative Executive

Working in Social Media encompasses a lot more than you’d think. Emma Trotter shares her insights…

This week, Emma Trotter from Stickyeyes offers a great insight into working in social media. She talks about building relationships with bloggers and what it’s like to work for an award winning agency.

What is your official job title?

My job here at Stickyeyes is Creative Executive, I work within the Creative Team along with 15 others. I started here at the beginning of August after spending 3 months travelling through American and Canada, the travelling came about after I sold my cake business, a business I built from scratch and owned for 3 years. It was a real leap for me to go from being my own boss in a business that had started from my kitchen table to a company with a wall full of awards (we won the Search Awards Agency of the Year 2012 on Thursday 2nd November) and a huge variety of people with amazing knowledge and skills. It was definitely a moment of big fish in a small pond to small fish in a big pond. But it has been the best move career wise I have ever made, it’s the first company I have worked for where I feel I add something to the business.

What does your average day involve (if an average day even exists)?

There is most definitely no such thing as an average day for me – I wear two different hats here – the first hat is creating fun and engaging campaigns for clients, including social media content, blogger engagement and events. Then I have my blogger engagement hat, this one is the one I wear whilst building and cultivating relationships with key bloggers, and searching out up and coming bloggers for our clients, who range from gambling, bed makers, contact lenses to hair products and about another 100 things between. The relationships that I have made with bloggers are so rewarding, to see an campaign grow from a simple idea all the way through to completion is such a great feeling.

What are the biggest challenges of your job?
With any job that involves other people, I would say the day to day timing and organising, this is an ever evolving company and as such we are taking on new clients all the time, with October being somewhat of a record! This means juggling the loyal long term client’s expectations and needs with those of the new clients coming on board. With all of our clients being so wilding different and covering such a broad product and audience range, there is a definite need to be able to pick up and put down projects with ease and comfort, something that I learnt when I ran my cake company. I am a fan of jobs that involve tasks that I can liken to herding cats or juggling jelly!

What do you enjoy most about your job?
I love a challenge and this job most certainly offers that, no two days are ever the same and I feel constantly supported to push myself to achieve more both for the client as well as myself. The people that I work with are also amazing, they are the most creative, fashionable, wonderful group of people and I feel very lucky to love work on a Monday morning, something I know a lot of people don’t have the luxury of. I love being in an atmosphere of change and development, we are always striving for the best, to be the leaders in our industry and the launch of Best British Bloggers in July 2011 really proved that the company is on the cutting edge of the social media and blogger engagement platform.

What advice would you give to anyone wanting to get into a similar position?
I would say just go for it, if you want something badly enough then you will find a way to get it. I realised whilst I was travelling in America that I loved writing and having started my own blog and received such amazing comments, I realised that not only did I enjoy it, I was good at it. Once I realised this is what I wanted to do I researched companies I wanted to work for and was lucky enough to be offered an interview at Stickyeyes. It’s the most nervous I have ever felt about a job so to say I was ecstatic when I found out the job was mine is an understatement.

So my words of wisdom would be keep going, keep striving for the career that you want. Write a list of your best and worst qualities and then a list of what you want from a job and really quickly you will see what job you would suit, once you know that the world is your oyster and the only thing holding you back is you. So knock on doors, aim really really high, send your CV to the best people in the industry you want to work for and make yourself the perfect candidate by being up to date on the industry and offering something over and above the other candidates. Learn to promote yourself and don’t be afraid to shout about your good points, your skills and knowledge, no one is going to do it for you.

My last piece of advice is that if you really want to work for a particular company think about taking a lower paid position with the opportunity to advance. Companies want employees who want to do well for themselves which in turn means doing well for the company. So take a lower salary if needs be, prove your worth to the bosses and be the best you can. The rest will fall into place.

Thanks so much to Emma for getting on board with this project. If you work in the media/creative industry and have five minutes to spare to help create this careers resource, please have a read about the project here.

